Soulmates

IMG_5622

Always ready to love, to have fun, to keep you company, to make you laugh. Unconditional love is what they know best.

Ever since I can remember, my life has been blessed with the presence of a dog. In many shapes and forms they have appeared into my life to show the maximum expression of unconditional love. Some people may not see or feel this connection between an animal and a human is anything but special, and that is fine with me as I am learning as I go along in life that my perception of things may well differ from other’s perception; and that does not mean they are wrong, I am right or vice versa. it is just a different experience a different journey which will determine how we percibe, and feel many things in life.

In this photo are Aşk and Enzo our dogs. Aşk is a five year old female Boxer and Enzo is a two and a half year old Pitbull mix. Both of them are the most gentle souls. So loving, so aware of their environment, so caring, so clever and funny.

Aşk has been with me the longest, ever since she was only thirteen months old, I insist she found me that day at the park; when I was just enjoying my roller blading. she got in my way (figuratively speaking), I was not looking for a dog, I was still mourning the lost of my dear Massimo (a beautiful greyhound rescued). However, that day Aşk decided to make the appearance in the form of the cutest and most delicious puppy. I could not resist that face; it was love at first sight. I named her Aşk which means love in turkish, because she came into my life right around a time where love was in the air. We bonded so much to even resemble each others personalities and even illnesses. Our bodies reacted the same way from our emotions. We both had skin reactions, respiratory problems, anxiety issues, you name it; and we both shared it the same time.

During those darkest moments of my emotional pain, Ashk has stood strong right next to me. Her health has always taken the biggest hit. I knew right away how our souls were so connected. She was clearly my soulmate. She would even develop a medical condition even before I realized what was happening to me emotionally. She gave me warnings with her body. She was my rock during those tough moments. Always there kissing me, cheering me up with her cuteness, letting me know she was there for the long run and we were going to overcome anything together with the best cure of all: LOVE.

Then Enzo appeared into our lives. A very alive, energetic and always hungry puppy. We thought we rescued him from a very bad situation. But the reality was the opposite, he rescued us from not being able to stay present and enjoying the moment. He gave my husband and I a chance to be there in the “NOW”. Have fun, run, chase him around… He gave us a chance to experience unconditional “LOVE” again. Two and a half years later, he is strong, very protective but with a special gentle touch; he gets constant reminders that he not a puppy anymore. However, we are all still in denial; including him.

With the family growing, different roles were adopted. Aşk became our matriarch. She would always be so inquisitive, connecting her eyes with your eyes without a blink until she got an acceptable answer. Enzo Became the muscle, the protector, but still the puppy that needed lots of cuddles in the morning to start the day right; otherwise big sulking was his way to express if he got the wrong dosage of morning “LOVE”.

Today, as I am processing the end of my marriage. I am already feeling the sadness of knowing that in a couple of days Aşk and I will depart to continue with our journey somewhere else. While Enzo and my ex-husband will continue with their lives without us. I am really sad, as I write this blog. Some of you will understand this pain, some won’t; and that’s ok… because I am the only one who is physically and emotionally living this story. This is my emotional loss. The connection I shared with my dogs is beyond human explanation. To me, it is at the soul level and that is why I know they are my soulmates.

I will cherish the beautiful memories, because regardless of the physical separation. The feelings and what we shared will come with me everywhere. It will stay in my heart forever. I am so grateful I got to experience their love. We will stay connected with our souls, because that is what SOULMATES do.

Love your pet, show them you care. Give them attention, listen to them. Trust me they will appreciate it and you will too when they are no longer here with us. See through their eyes and connect with their SOUL. If you are reading this feeling you can relate, know that you found a SOULMATE too.

 

 

 

 

One thought on “Soulmates

Leave a Reply

